Useful information


Capital Budapest
Official language Hungarian
Area 93.030 km2
Currency Forint (HUF)
Drives on the Right
Dialing code 36


Hungary (in Hungarian: Magyarország), is a landlocked country in Central Europe.

It is situated in the Pannonian Basin and it is bordered by Slovakia to the north, Ukraine and Romania to the east, Serbia and Croatia to the south, Slovenia to the southwest and Austria to the west. The capital and the largest city is Budapest.

Hungary lies between latitudes 45° and 49° N, and longitudes 16° and 23° E.


For 95% of the population, the native language is Hungarian, a Finno-Ugric language unrelated to any neighbouring language and distantly related to Finnish and Estonian.


Hungary has a continental climate with hot summers and low overall humidity levels but frequent rain showers and mildly cold snowy winters.